top of page

The Leasphere

Montreal & Ottawa


The plane was beginning its descent to Montreal airport, I instantly turned my head to see what it looked like and I was smiling so hard & the emotion got me, I nearly cried because I was just so happy to be there.

I had planned this trip during months and my flight was reserved one year ago because I got a really good deal on the website

→ https://www.skyscanner.net/

Looking at all the prices of the flights way before you reserve one is the best advice I can give you to get the best price.

The Clock Tower Beach, Montreal

My trip was for two weeks, the first week was in Montreal then I took a bus to Ottawa which took me about two hours then finally I came back to Montreal for the last four days. Honestly, the first day was amazing but everything felt so different from what it is like in Switzerland, where I live. Canada is the perfect country to travel alone because everyone is so nice and helpful there.

As you may know, I was in Ottawa at the same time as inhabitants were celebrating 150 years of the country. In the meantime, Montreal was celebrating their anniversary for the 375 years of the city, and so many manifestations were taking place every day during my trip.

In Montreal

This kind of city is absolutely my type, I would describe it as metropolitan and arty. The architecture is a mix of french and american, it is so refreshing to see a kind of building style that you do not see often in Europe.

For the food, it was impressive to see so many vegan options in one city. (Im a vegetarian in transition phase to veganism)

I got to see an enormous firework from the observatory in Mont Royal and the view was just so breathtaking.

Mont-Royal Observatory, Montreal

What left me a mark was when I got to go to Montreal Pride, I was feeling amazing there because everyone was not ashamed of who they are and we had a speech from the Mayor of the city, I couldn't agree more with what he said in his speech. Basically he said that whatever sexuality or color you are, we are not supposed to be harassed or treated in a different way. It was so beautiful to assist to this show because it was so powerful that we were all at this show to support this cause. Every artist who sang performed LGBTQ songs and they were all Canadian artists.

In comparison to the country I've visited in whole life for now, I found that having a gay village was a wonderful idea and it is a pedestrian street with little balloons of every color on the LGBTQ flag.

Gay Village, Montreal

In Ottawa

I've stayed in Ottawa, the capital of Canada for three days, this city is smaller than Montreal but it was nice to see what this beautiful city full of history was like.

On Bank Street there was loads of street art, I loved it so much and on this same street was a rainbow crosswalk.

In Ottawa I got to see a lovely firework, it was right before the light show was taking place on Parliament Hill. The light show was explaining the story of the country which was interesting, I was not surprised to learn that Canada has always been in advance on load of things.

To conclude I wanna say that Canada is a wonderful country that deserve to be talked about because I have never seen so many LGBTQ events happening and I felt like I could be whatever I want without being judged for being yourself.

End

Thank you for reading! Do not hesitate to message me with your advices or opinion.

Lots of love, Lea xx

Discover my Instagram @theleasphere

bottom of page